The Long Walk to… Boredom?

I like a challenge, but you’ve got to draw the line somewhere. I know fleeces and sledges and so on are probably a bit more hi-tech these days, but the icy fate of Captain Scott has made my mind up about polar exploration. Similarly, Mount Everest is quite simply too big a hill for my little legs. I like Alton Towers as much as the next person, but Nemesis and Oblivion are quick enough for me, so trying to break the land speed record isn’t on my agenda. I think I would quite like to do a skydive. But from the sky not outer space like the (clearly mental) Felix Baumgartner did in 2013.

Up until now, hockey has provided me with enough physical, mental and emotional challenges to keep me busy, motivated and too tired to do much else! But things, for this summer at least, have changed. I’m looking for new challenges and what better way to start than a Tough Mudder. This is a 12 mile course, made a bit trickier by the inclusion of various obstacles – think 10 foot walls, icy water tanks, electric shocks and LOTS of mud! (For an idea, watch this video). I’m doing this as a bit of fun, as something to train for and to raise some money for Help for Heroes.

Strangely enough though, I think I’m more nervous about the 15 mile charity walk I’m doing in Jersey tomorrow morning. This is partly because as a general rule, I find walking boring. I feel I should apologise at this point to my two walking companions for the title of this post (and to the late, great, Nelson Mandela for ‘paraphrasing’ the title of his amazing book). Ultimately though, finding a very ‘human’ action – and for most humans, an integral part of how we move – ‘boring’ is a reflection on me, not on them. I’m sure we will chat our way along the south coast of Jersey with ease. I just find the monotony of placing one foot in front of the other for hours on end a greater mental challenge than I think the physical difficulties of jumping, sliding and running through the Yorkshire mud will pose.

I realise this is a bit of a shameless plea for a bit of sponsorship. But the point is, even though sometimes our fundraising attempts can seem a bit self-indulgent because of the ‘personal challenge’ involved or the fact they’re actually quite good fun, as a general rule, they are geared towards helping others. Whether I manage to walk 15 miles tomorrow without getting bored, or trudge through 12 miles of mud in August, if I can raise a bit of awareness and a bit of money to help some people who need it, then that will be a much more powerful outcome.

Click here to visit my Tough Mudder sponsorship page and donate to Help for Heroes

or

Or visit this website to find out how you can donate to help adults and children with a learning disability in Jersey.

Thank you!
@inkingfeeling>

One thought on “The Long Walk to… Boredom?

  1. Someone has said to me that they don’t think I should use my blog to ask for sponsorship. Some of you may agree. Some of you might have read a paragraph, realised where it was leading and given up. To those who think that – it’s ok. I hope it doesn’t put you off reading my future entries, but I respect your views and have no intention of changing my overall aim: writing to make you smile, think, and ask. Whilst this particular entry may include links to find out more or to make a small donation – for which I am very grateful to anyone who does – my main aim is to raise awareness about the work that these amazing charities do. If one person learns about Mencap and Help for Heroes, and makes a donation, as far as I’m concerned, job done. I don’t want to put anyone off reading my blog, but sometimes in life I think it’s the right thing to do to use your voice – whatever voice you have – to try and do something to help.

Leave a Reply

